White Supremacy in Canada?

I thought Canadians didn’t do this.

I thought Canadians didn’t do this. But then again, I’m not surprised. It serves as a prime example of how the Trump presidency is impacting people even in Canada.

Over the last week in the news, there has been a rise in anti diversity posters. They highlight the apparent (emphasis on apparent) “anti-white posters” that are being displayed across the city of Toronto.

First of all, I’ve never seen an “anti-white” poster. I’ve lived in Toronto for 18 years and not once have I seen that sort of poster in Toronto.

So that begs the question: why were these posters made?

Presently, we don’t have an “anti-white” culture in Canada. Our culture is too diverse. Plus, I’ve never seen someone privately (or even outright) say racist things against a  white person.

Which leads my conclusion that the Trump presidency is seriously affecting us right next door.

The day after the American election, I admit that I did a little bit of drinking. But I didn’t expect protests or widespread outrage to take Canada by storm.

I mean he’s not our president-elect. Canadians didn’t vote for him so we should all just calm down and look to our own head of state.

Yes he marginalized people. Yes he said some racist, misogynistic and cruel things. I don’t deny that for a second. As a matter of fact, I condone him for throwing aside all minorities in order to gain the support of traditional Americans.

But that doesn’t mean we should start imitating his mannerisms or protesting on the streets. 

To all the protesters: there’s not much you can do at this point. Talk to your American neighbours and reassure them in this time of trouble. Hell if you want, help them arrange  their flight out of America if they really want to leave. But please don’t waste energy and time fighting  a battle that isn’t yours to begin with.

As for those people putting up the posters like the one above: stop. As a white Canadian, I condone your actions. We need diversity, not segregation and finger-pointing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

